I. FROM THE EDITORS

The General editor for the Flora Malesiana is now Dr. H.P. Nooteboom (L), assisted by Drs. B.A Barlow (CANB), M.J.E. Coode (K), D.W. Kirkup (K), L.G. Saw (FRIM), P.F. Stevens (MO), and W.J.J.O. de Wilde (L).

Caryophyllaceae by K. Larsen are finished for printing;

Cunoniaceae by R.D. Hoogland & H.C.F. Hopkins are nearly done;

Cycadaceae by Dr. D.J. de Laubenfels and Nepenthaceae by M. Cheek & M.H.P. Jebb are being reviewed.

Myristicaceae by W.J.J.O de Wilde are now set in type for printing as Flora Malesiana I, 14, to be published early 2000.

Sea-grasses, *Potamogetonaceae* (G. Wiegleb & C. den Hartog), *Cymodoceaceae* (Den Hartog), and *Zosteraceae* (Den Hartog) have finally been completed.

Flora Malesiana I, 15 will contain *Nepenthaceae* only. The *Araceae* will also constitute a separate volume.

Circulars are available inviting people to express an interest in the Fifth FM Symposium (September 2001 in Australia).

These circulars can be obtained from Dr. A. Hay (alistair_hay@rbgsyd.gov.au) SYD. Any requests preferably should include an e-mail contact.

See also Chapter 5 and http://plantnet.rbgsyd.gov.au/fm/fm.html, where you can register for the Second Circular.

For many of our readers it will be difficult to get used to the new name of the former Rijksherbarium: Leiden University branch of the National Herbarium of the Netherlands (NHN or in Dutch: Nationaal Herbarium Nederland).

The reasons for this name change are given on pages 266 and 267 by Prof. Pieter Baas, the director of this joint venture of the herbaria of Leiden, Utrecht, and Wageningen.

[The views expressed in the Flora Malesiana Bulletin do not necessarily reflect those of Herbarium Bogoriense, Bogor, or of Rijksherbarium/Hortus Botanicus, Leiden.]